My other half

 

In collaboration with the photographer: Soham Sunil Joshi (@soham_thekeeper)

Poem | Sara Ali| The Photo Cabinet|

My other half is Gentle.
Soft edges and sharp curves.
Her touch is delicate and warm,
Her strength is ferociously calm.

My other half explodes with love.
She cuddles her tears,
That can make iron hearts melt.
She’s got scars carved on her skin,
That stretched beyond measure
to enclose patience and sacrifice within.

My other half is beautiful,
Grace in her breath.
There are unknown eyes on her breasts,
Eyes, and hands that pierce her body from afar.
She is fierce in her will.
She is sound in her spirit.
She cries with no shame,
Bears pain with no complaint.

I am Her and so are you.
Because every man is a half woman.
And if you remember well,
Every man came from a woman.
As we were pulled away from her writhing body,
Half her soul got severed in the pain.
The same soul you and I carry,
You and I hide from the world
to validate the word manly.

This soul will remain in us,
In the woman, we marry,
In our daughters, in our sons.
In humanity,
In the universe and beyond.

Leave a comment